MLB Awards Week: Unanimous Rooks

11/14/2023 MLB Awards Week: Unanimous Rooks

By: Jeff Yoder

Corbin Carroll (NL) & Gunnar Henderson (AL) Named Unanimous Rookie of the Year Winners

Welcome to the 2023 MLB awards week! Baseball opens the offseason with a full week of hardware, and it started yesterday with the Rookie of the Year awards. Two former teammates in the 2018 All-America Game have been linked together for years as they progressed to the majors. Corbin Caroll (Diamondbacks) and Gunnar Henderson (Orioles) had two spectacular rookie seasons with clubs that saw drastic turnarounds. Both were unanimous selections, marking the fifth time in league history that both ROY awards were undisputed. The last time was in 2017 (Cody Bellinger & Aaron Judge).


NL ROY: Corbin Carroll (Diamondbacks)

The D-Backs’ centerfielder was perhaps the biggest catalyst sparking Arizona to an unlikely World Series run. Carroll hit .285 this season with 25 HRs, 76 RBIs and 54 stolen bases. The man was also a star in the outfield while playing in 155/162 games. 2nd Place: Kodai Senga (Mets) / 3rd Place: James Outman (Dodgers)


AL ROY: Gunnar Henderson (Orioles)

The Orioles’ 3B was a big reason why Baltimore earned the No. 1 seed in the AL with 101 wins this season. Henderson logged a .255 batting average with 28 HRs, 82 RBIs and 10 stolen bases. The O’s got a good one for a long time. 2nd Place: Tanner Bibee (Guardians) / 3rd Place: Triston Casas (Red Sox)


MLB Awards Week Schedule

Tuesday: Manager of the Year

Wednesday: Cy Young Award(s)

Thursday: MVP Award(s)


Photo: Michael Reaves / Getty Images